Flash Trigger Question

Name
Rob
Edit My Images
Yes
Hi... This is a newby question so please bear with me. I am a keen street photographer and I am to starting take an interest in more traditional portraiture. I have a little studio experience but only using a system that had already been set up for us. I would like to give it a go myself with some modest equipment before splashing out on expensive studio flash heads. I have some elderly but perfectly serviceable flashguns (Vivitar 283 'Light Machine' and Soligor 42AS) which were well regarded units in their day. Now I know better than to attach either of these to my D610 so I was considering getting a budget radio transmitter/receiver and two stands and softboxes. My question is: Would the receivers be compatible with these elderly flashguns (which probably have high voltages)?

As always many thanks for any replies.
Rob

another option is to have a small hotshoe gun act as a master and have optical triggers on the other guns. The 283 was a real piece of kit wasnt it? :)

The 283 is listed as having a varity of voltages depending on when and where made, early versions tested at as high as 600v, some made in Korea tested at 8v but others came out around the 200v mark. As theres such a wide range I would suggest you contact the trigger company and ask if those sort of voltages are safe with their triggers.
600v could easily fry something.

They (high voltage trigger guns) worked perfectly fine with optical triggers back in the day, no-one worried about trigger voltage then :)
I'm assuming you can still get them of course, just checked, e-bay or Amazon still stock them at very reasonable prices.
Probably not as good as wireless, especially outdoors but ok indoors.

Last edited:
Indoors - another vote for cheap optical triggers, all you need them to do is fire the flash in synch... Probably no need for a hot-shoe flash as I believe the D610 has a built in unit.