flash working too good - don't get it

KIPAX

Seriously Likeable
Name
KIPAX Lancashire UK
Edit My Images
No
I know I shouldn't be but I am still a complete novice with flash... I need somehting explaining please..

testing in my front room..pictures of my front room

I can set my camera up in manual.. lets say 200 shutter, iso 800 and f8 with flash set to TTL
Perfect exposure

I can then change anything...go to f4.. go to iso 1600.. change shutter
Perfect exposure

It doesn't matter what settings i choose on my camera..
perfect exposure

turn lights on or just have lamp on
perfect exposure

1dxmk II
24-70 mk II
580EX II

Does this all sound right ?

Yes Ttl in operation I believe.

Yes Ttl in operation I believe.

i presumed.. but why then do people suggest using different modes wiht flash like av or tv..... why not setup everthing as you want it and let the flash do the rest ?

also i presume the higher ISO i use will put less strain on batteries as the flash will need less power ?

Yes again, to iso question.
As to the other part, I am no flash expert, far from it, but it's all about combining 2 images, one lit by flash and one by ambient light. If you are indoors you won't have much distance between object and background so the flash will pretty much light everything. However go outside at night and you will find the meter on av will suggest a very slow shutter speed, tv will suggest a large aperture, neither may be achieved and the background will at best be black unless you have a really powerful flash. In av mode you may also see signs of camera shake.
Or at least that's my understanding, ask Phil he gives a much better answer.
Matt