Beginner Flashgun problem

Name
Lucy
Edit My Images
Yes
Hi, I have a canon 1000d. Iv had it for several years now. Time for an upgrade soon. However, my issue is when I use the flashgun on top. I'm new to using one of these. When I use it I notice I get a harsh black strip across the bottom of my picture. When I turn the camera portrait, the harsh black strip is on the side of the picture. Which ever way I turn the camera. The black strip always appears to be towards the bottom on the camera. Any idea what's causing this? Iv tried several shutter speeds ranging from 1/200 down to 1/15 and each one is still the same.
I read a post that the len's could be a problem?

It will more than likely be the lens itself that is causing the shadow, if you have a hood fitted to the lens then removing it might help

The onboard flash is't really much cop anyway on most DSLR's, best bet is to buy a dedicated speedlight

I haven't got a lens hood. The on board flash is rubbish which is why I brought the attachment speedlight thing (what ever its called) - for someone who has been doing photography for years, im absolutely useless with the names of everything! Lol

Last edited:
This still sounds like, as Rich has noted, the lens casting a shadow. Were the photos where this problems occurs take with a wide angle lens(or kit lens at the widest end of its range) and with the subject close to the camera?

Post a couple of shots up here with the EXIF data.

Dave

If you are using a speedlight then i suspect you have too high a shutter speed, yopu need to look into Flash Sync Speeds, here is a link to help explain it better than i can

http://www.digitalcameraworld.com/2...ash-modes-do-and-how-to-use-them-cheat-sheet/
^ that

If it's a solid black bar it's more likely to be the shutter speed than a lens shadow.

Try a slower shutter speed (1/180 or slower) and see if it goes away. There should be a menu option to default to the synch speed whenever the camera detects flash is active.