Flower girl... tried something different... thoughts?

Name
John
Edit My Images
Yes
Hi All

My daughter Heather, but this time I thought I'd splash a little colour in there with her, a nice bunch of flowers that were on hand came in useful here.

C&C welcome as ever...

p373031958.jpg

(y) works for me mate . if i was being picky id say a few less flower but thats just being picky ..
nice shot

md(y)

Thanks Dave, coming from you sir I am flattered. (y) Thanks.

the pose does look a fraction forced to my eye
I suspect if the rose were just across her lap it might work
but it's beautifully exposed
far better than I could do (y)

I am no pro at posing etc, so will leave that bit to others, but I would be tempted to just give it a bit of a whack on the constrast, just to lessen the slight palness it seems to have (in my opinion).

I hope you dont mind, but I had a little play in photoshop:
contandhueaa3.jpg

I saturated the colours slightly too :) It may be a bit over the top.

Think Mr.Lemons edit has improved the shot but think that the background needs to be sorted out a bit more - the ripples in the fabric are a bit distracting so I'd get rid of them. If you create a new levels adjustment layer over the image & use the highlight eyedropper to select the slight shading in the creases, that will blow out the background further. If you then remove the levels adjustment from your daughter via masking then you should be sorted imo (y)

Nice portrait though, well done (y)

Hi Moomike - 100% with you on this sir... see this thread.

I still have loads to learn and improve on, all that will I am sure, help me to present my pictures far more professionally. You are totally right in that the background needs a lot of work, but I was just very very eager, and I must admit... quite proud, that I managed to take these shots just 2 months into DSLR's, and only 2 days into studio flash gear.

I do recognise my weaknesses, and am more than eager to do something about them.