Flowers...any tips please?

EdinburghGary

Reply not Report
Name
Gary
Edit My Images
Yes
Hi,

Inspired mainly by Ducky, but others too, have tried some flowers. I am using 3 100 watt desk lamps on a white sheet. Any tips please? I can see there are various issues.

2494736837_087fb2b3a3_o.jpg

2495636320_40143ab03d_o.jpg

2494786061_f4dc6c7a79_o.jpg

2494807093_3511b3e963_o.jpg

2494846017_26e3b5913f_o.jpg

2494957947_f746170935_o.jpg

2495801650_965b8553e0_o.jpg

2495834396_c52f740fdd_o.jpg

2495870116_3d4790ab95_o.jpg

Will be trying more of these, probably from a different perspective, rather than lying them down, may use a mug to get a more natural looking stance...

C & C and tips on how to improve much appreciated. All taken with my 50mm...

Gary.

Last edited:
You need to sort out your post processing there are obvious snip and blend halos.
There are lots of blown bits.
Some spots on a few need cloning out.

Overall though, not too bad

I am no expert but i think they would look better with a dark backgroung due to the colours of the flowers being so vibrant??

Hey you read my mind, I have a leather tray from Tesco which is about to be used!!! I saved the tulips for it (I think they are tulips!)

I should have faced the flower "into" the space, but still much easier to PP that the white!

(image number 6 now in original post)

Also, that was shot at f2.8 - guessing if I use F4 (50mm), it will keep more of the flower sharp? Maybe even F8?

Last edited:
Last edited:
Last one for now 0 its amazing what you spot after you have taken the pic, yellow flower is totally lost lol.

*Image number 7 - moved to original post*

Last edited:
I do mine at f11, ISO 200, 1/200, diffused flash, off camera if possible, manual mode and manual focus. It seems to work OK and thanks to ajophotog for the advice he gave me on how to do this.

Manual Focus scares me, do you use the 50mm???

Gary.