Beginner Focus issues photographing fish.

Name
harry
Edit My Images
No
Hello, I have a second hand Canon 600d with a fixed 50mm lens. I mainly use it for fishing an photographing what I catch. However I have real issues with focusing on both me and the fish I have tried moving the fish as close to me as possible but that doesn't help, I mainly use the auto function as I'm no expert with the camera. Any help would be amazing ill attach a couple of pics of the problem.

You may have it set at a large aperture. If you are with the camera now view one of the images details. The aperture number begins with a f. If its a lower number try increasing it.

Last edited:
How correct would one be presung an SNR 'Selfie' holding the camera at arms length, maybe 3 ft, pointing backwards?
If so,
1/ the closest focus distance on a 50mm lens will be something over a foot.. I have long arms, I might be able to hold the camera two and a half foot from my face if I lea back a bit but its stll rather a short subject range!!!
2. The Depth of Field, front to back focus on a 50mm lens between the nearest focus range and perhaps 3 feet will be measured in mm at almost all apertures.. focus will be critical and limited to a very slim zone infront and behind the subject range, that s small enough to see noses and ears drop out of focus, if you focus on the eyes.
3/ With a 50mm lens at that sort of close range, I would not expect to be getting full length photo's... it would be a bit tight to get head and shoulders portraits.. whch hints you may not be dong arms length selfies... but still... a 50mm lens, is probably a tad too 'telephoto' for this sort of situation, where I would imagine that a kit 18-55, and probably set at the wider 18,, end towards perhaps the middle 35mm zoom setting would, probably be the more appropriate