Focus issues

Name
Donna
Edit My Images
Yes
I am not sure if this is equipment or technique so this may be in the wrong forum, if so then Mods please move.
I have just splashed out on a Nikon 300mm f/2.8 and I bought a 1.4 TC as well.
The lens / combination is pin sharp when it focuses correctly but it invariably front focuses by 2-3 cm. I have done an AF fine adjustment and under controlled indoor conditions the focus is spot on. There is a little variation if the focus is coming back from infinity or if it is going forward from 2m but hey as a retired engineer I am well aware of tolerances.
In the field however, I focus on the body of a bird, hit (and hold) the AF-ON button, lens focusses take the shot and bird is on the edge of focus with foreground foliage pin sharp! If this happens only occasionally then I would suspect movement or technique but it happens more often than not. So guys what am I doing wrong?

Maybe post some photos some *** can comment

OK, one of too many. The camera recorded focus point achieved on the wing shoulder of this bird. No foliage was in the way.

TP_DSC3655.jpg

As you can see the bird is not sharp but the foreground foliage is.

Camera settings:
Continuous servo AF
AF area: single point (NOTE I have tried 9,21 & 51 point but no better)
AF-C priority: Release
a4: focus tracking OFF
a5: AF Activation AF-ON only

Lens & TC combo set to +10 on AF fine tune.

This was the last of a low speed continuous set. I manually pre-focussed before holding down the AF-ON button. The rest of the set have similar focus issues, some shots have the focus point recorded, and some do not. Oh and it was a calm day!

I have done an AF fine adjustment and under controlled indoor conditions the focus is spot on.