Beginner Focus mode question

Name
Steve
Edit My Images
Yes
I'm taking some shots of freestyle dancing tonight at my children's dance school party. Am I best using the AI Servo setting for this as the subject will be in action?

Am I best using the AI Servo setting for this as the subject will be in action?

Yes, you are… but you should not stop there —
Set "continous focus" and use "back button focus"!
You say nothing about using flash!!!

Thank you for your reply.

I've never used the back button focus before......any tips?

I have a 430exii speedlite flashgun at the ready

I've never used the back button focus before......any tips?

I know nothing about anything that is not Nikon.
So I will refer you to the RFM strategy!

Would I be better using the 9point auto selection focusing or the manual centre spot only for picking a single dancer out on the floor? I'm guessing the manual centre spot will be best?

How about the metering mode?
Evaluative?
Partial?
Spot?
Or centre weighted?

So sorry for all the questions!!!!!!!!

So sorry for all the questions!!!!!!!!

Again, I know nothing about anything that is not Nikon.
So I speak in Nikon term and am not familiar with other's lexicons!
Metering I would set on "c
enter-weighted metering" in Nikon terms
and "the manual centre spot only for picking a single dancer out on
the floor
" sounds good to me!

That's the plan!!!! They tend to work their way around the dance floor perimeter in an oval shape so I'm planning on positioning myself on the end of one of the 'straights' or just around the edge of the corner

Have a good time and good luck!

Thanks, I'll let you know how I get on :)
Would be interested to hear how you got on. I personally don't use BBF as I don't find it as comfortable and am quite happy to swap between C-AF and S-AF, it takes no time and rarely swap between the two as C-AF works well for static subjects too on my camera.