Focus stacking software comparison, Zerene and Affinity.

Name
Laurence
Edit My Images
No
49838189797_94416c1f2f_b.jpg

Affinity Photo image

49837889396_d2f6a19a25_b.jpg

Zerene image

I'm just getting started back into macro and doing some focus stacking trying out Zerene and Affinity Photo for comparison. Both these images have had the same post processing in Lightroom, they've only been cropped with no further pp. To my eyes the Affinity image is sharper with more definition, also the colours appear slightly "stronger". Considering the price differential, Zerene is £74 and Affinity is on special offer at £24 I'm leaning very heavily towards Affinity.
Be very grateful for comments.
Edit: TBH I can't really see much difference when viewed here....

Last edited:
49838189797_94416c1f2f_b.jpg

Affinity Photo image

49837889396_d2f6a19a25_b.jpg

Zerene image

I'm just getting started back into macro and doing some focus stacking trying out Zerene and Affinity Photo for comparison. Both these images have had the same post processing in Lightroom, they've only been cropped with no further pp. To my eyes the Affinity image is sharper with more definition, also the colours appear slightly "stronger". Considering the price differential, Zerene is £74 and Affinity is on special offer at £24 I'm leaning very heavily towards Affinity.
Be very grateful for comments.
Edit: TBH I can't really see much difference when viewed here....
From these examples I'd say that the Affinity stack looks very slightly more saturated, but there is very little to choose between them.
I've only recently started experimenting with focus stacking but I find that Affinity does an excellent job.

I now use Affinity Photo, mainly because I couldn't justify the cost of Photoshop; which I used for many years. I am quite impressed, it does evrything I ask of it, but I found it to be a steep learning curve.