fomapan - too cheap to be good?

Name
Edit My Images
No
Just had a look on AG's website and see that Fomapan 5x4 is stupidly cheap. Is there a good reason for that? Anyone used it an can comment?

I've been using some ood stuff for getting the hang of the Arca. Looks fine to me, its not terribly grainy though I think 100 is a little optimistic. Its curly wurly in smaller formats but again it seems fine in sheet, I think the emulsion may be a little soft but I'm still learning so any scratches are probably my fault!

For reference its the only sheet film I've used and I'm sure some of the more seasoned guys will tell you why FP4+ is much better but for burning through its fine.

I've not used the sheet version but its fine in 35mm & 120, at that price its gotta be worth a try.

I tried the 400 version in 35mm and found it too grainy for my liking. The emulsion was extremely soft when wet and very easily scratched. I don't know but don't suppose that you would use a squeegee on 5"x4", which is just as well.

Foma films are perfectly competent, and can give some lovely pictures with a certain almost "old fashioned charm" (the emulsions date from the 50's). The problem with them mainly is the quality control; sometimes they'll be fantastic, and other times not quite as good. The 100 is probably the only one that I would use though as the speed for the 200 version is very optimistic (I found that with the standard dev times it looked best when exposed at 125), and the 400 is very very grainy. The emulsion is also quite soft (and the film is so thin that in 35mm Foma films are an absolute pain to get on the reel!).

thanks for the replies. I'll risk a box. A quick fomapan search on flickr shows up a lot of nice looking images.

It's a classic looking film, which can be quite nice. The 120 versions are an absolute pain to develop, because like all cheap films they are very curly and are a real struggle to keep flat.