For those looking to get into Off Camera flash techniques....

Name
Rob
Edit My Images
Yes
Hi all,

I have been researching, on strobist and other sites, how to get into off camera flash techniques and what kit I need.

The one thing I have found quite difficult, is determining which flashes will be suitable. This may be becuase I am new to the flash market but hey. I have managed to find a list of flashes with full manual control, and its helped me start to look for some second hand flashes. Here is the link.

you may have already seen it, if not, hope it helps!

Rob

Hi Rob,

The most suitable flashes have the following

A hot shoe
A PC Sync socket
Manual Zoom
Manual Aperture
Manual Power Adjustment

You don't have to worry about buying the identical brand of flash to your camera, Nikon SB-24's and 28's and the like are now quite different in price compared to when Dave Hobby posted his strobist lighting 101 guide, the sell from anything to £70-£110 and more! Vivitar units are a little cheaper but some don't have a manual power adjustment and you'll have to move the flash further away from your subject to diminish the volume or diffuse it heavily if space is limited.

Just in case you missed this video, have a watch, it explains all the pieces of kit hat are widely used and also the names of the gear so you can shop around and compare prices:
[YOUTUBE]<object width="425" height="344"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/lKAD7leNOVY&color1=0xb1b1b1&color2=0xcfcfcf&fs=1"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/lKAD7leNOVY&color1=0xb1b1b1&color2=0xcfcfcf&fs=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed></object>[/YOUTUBE]

T.

Hi Thomas,

I was aware of not needing an identical unit to my camera. I have also seen the vid, strobist 101 is a gold mine of info! (y)