From Canon to Fuji

Name
Charles
Edit My Images
Yes
I am beginning to regret my foray into full-frame, I do love my Canon 5D mkii especially with the 17-40mm F4 but it is enormously bulky. I am considering moving back to a crop and getting the Fuji X-T20.

I think a Samyang 12mm F2 should cover anything particularly wide that I need but am struggling to come up with good value options for a tele, does anyone have any suggestions?

My other issue is that I absolutely love having my C1,2 and 3 settings along with manual mode, this gives me 4 instant settings and a click of a dial which is fantastic for moving from a bracketed exposure of a landscape to shoot a buzzard flying overhead, etc. It also means that as a relative novice, I have my settings dialled in without worrying about making stupid mistakes like forgetting to change the metering mode!

Does the Fuji system have anything like that? If so, how many custom settings does it have?

Thanks for your help

the 55-200 is probably the best 'value for money' in terms of price and IQ. Some people like the 55-230, but its not of the same build quality - IQ wise though I really have no idea, I just imagine its not as good considering price. If your after anything longer than that I imagine your confined to the 100-400 which is significantly more expensive than both :)

Depends on your budget really. The 55-200 is a very nice bit of gear, the OIS is incredible. You can hand hold at 200mm, 1/15th sec comfortably. I don't know if it' optically much superior to the 50-230, but it's got the speed advantage, a full stop better aperture and a stop better OIS [comparing to the MKI 50-230, the MKII might be the same OIS]

If you don't need the reach and want something more pro-spec there's the 50-140 2.8 [behaves much like a 70-200 on your FF Canon], and as SealBeard mentions, there is the 100-400 for more serious wildlife.

Last edited: