From Lightroom > Photoshop - Can't use Camera Raw ?

djs

Name
Daniel
Edit My Images
Yes
Hi,

I'm new to using lightroom, and have tried googling but can't find any info.

I've imported the photos to lightroom, and flagged the ones I want to edit (very handy).

But when I open them in photoshop, I can't open them in Camera Raw?
I've updated to the latest camera raw 5.2.

The RAW files are ORF (olympus). Can anyone help me with this?

Thanks

Why can't you open them in Camera RAW, what message does it give?
What version of Photoshop do you have?

More to the point, why are you even trying?

Unless I'm reading your post wrong, you appear to be trying to do the same thing twice. Lightroom is, to all extents and purposes, Camera RAW. So why would you want to use it again in Photoshop?

There are many, many different ways of working with the two pieces of software, but your workflow should be something like this: import your RAW files into Lightroom, flag those you want to keep, make all the necessary adjustments, export from Lightroom as either TIFF, PSD or JPEG and then import those into Photoshop for any final adjustments you deemed necessary.

But you certainly wouldn't be wanting to import the RAW files and then export them again only to open once more in Photoshop's Camera RAW. That would be slightly pointless. And if all you're doing is flagging RAW files for editing, then you might as well be using Bridge.

Unless, and this is only a complete guess, you're right-clicking and choosing to 'Edit in Adobe Photoshop' and it's this that's causing problems?

Which version of Photoshop are you using?

More to the point, why are you even trying?

Unless I'm reading your post wrong, you appear to be trying to do the same thing twice. Lightroom is, to all extents and purposes, Camera RAW. So why would you want to use it again in Photoshop?