Getting back to film...

Name
Col
Edit My Images
No
Hi there, hope someone can help, any advice would be very much appreciated.

OK, so i went to college so many years ago now i dont want to admit how long... i studied photography, mainly documentary but loved using the medium format cameras too. Loved the work by milton rogavin to mention one and of course seeing the quality of a medium format camera compared to the 35mm ones i used was such a treat to take them and develop them into prints. Loved the different papers too to add to the texture but thats a whole different thread.

So long story short id like after spending years taking pictures with a nikon digital and my iphone to purchase a medium format camera and enjoy those long walks and the way you change in take pictures with a big heavy camera. Yes im a romantic :)
Ive been looking around for a few prices of a second hand bronica/mamiya etc and the knowledge i had seems to have evaded me. Id like to get one for multi use, portraits and landscapes using the waist finder. So im wondering which lens to buy, body or maybe both at the same time? Budget would be around £250ish, maybe more if there was something nice.

To begin with id probably send the films to process but would also be happy to set up that at home in next few months. For the foreseeable future im not after printing out the images to any size just have contact sheets. Its more about the taking the pictures and having them for when i can set up a darkroom in the future but thats a long way off.

Many thanks for any help you can offer.

Col

With medium format, the big decision is what format do you want to shoot.

6 x 4.5 - conventional landscape format, 15-16 shots per roll
6 x 6 - square format, 12 shots per roll
6 x 7 - a landscape format (but basically a square with an additional centimetre on one side), 10 shots per roll