Getting better video editing performance on my PC

Name
David
Edit My Images
No
I'm a photographer by trade and occasionally I shoot stock. I've just started submitting video clips to libraries, but my PC struggles a bit with editing 4k files. I either edit in Photoshop, or edit using Corel Videostudio 2020.

The processor on my PC is an Intel i5-9400F with 32gb of Ram. If I wanted to make editing 4k vids much more smoother, would I need to get a better processor (if so what would be suitable?), increase the Ram... or both?

Any advice would be much appreciated

Best to check what your software needs but video editing often needs a separate graphics card for best performance.

Is your pc a laptop?

The amount of in camera compression you are using on your footage makes a lot of difference if you are shooting heavily compressed files your PC has to work much harder to un-compress each frame.

The easiest work round if you can only highly shoot compressed footed is to use proxy files where a much lower res uncompressed version of each clip is created when you import your footage. When you export the original footage is combined with your edit to give you a full res output.

If your existing software doesn't create proxy files try Davinci Resolve, you can get a reasonable version for free from the blackmagic design site.

A better graphics card and processor will probably help but you need to spend quiet a bit to get decent editing performance.

I have a brand new 2019 MacBook Pro with the highest graphics card available Rtx5500 with 8gb ram (well they released a better one just after i bought it, obviously) And an i9 processor and 32gb ram.

Using files from my Fuji xt3, so 4k at 200mbs and h265 I can just about play them back smoothly after import on davinci resolve. As soon as I do any colour grading or transitions, I have to wait for the files to render before it will play back Smoothly.
Same with 4k d-log footage from my Mavic 2 pro.