Getting started...

Edit My Images
Yes
I would love to get into motor sport photography, particularly as a friend of mine has just started racing bikes. The trouble is that I'm a complete newbie to DLSR's and I've never tried to capture anything like this before. I've only just got my first DLSR, a Canon 350D, and I only took it outside for the first time today!
So, what advice can anyone give me? Any tips or tricks I should know? Any specific lenses or equipment I should be using?

I would love to get into motor sport photography, particularly as a friend of mine has just started racing bikes. The trouble is that I'm a complete newbie to DLSR's and I've never tried to capture anything like this before. I've only just got my first DLSR, a Canon 350D, and I only took it outside for the first time today!
So, what advice can anyone give me? Any tips or tricks I should know? Any specific lenses or equipment I should be using?

im also interested in this so i will keep an eye out for this post to get some ideas my self (y)(y)

mat

Set focus mode to AI SERVO (Canon speak)
Use Tv mode (shutter priority mode).
Select a photo point rather than let the camera do it.
choose an iso that gives you an aperture you want given the weather, normally around the f/8
Play around with shutter speeds, from maybe 1/400 for a head on shot, down for different shots.
track the bike with the shutter button half pressed for a while to allow the focus tracking system to settle down. Squeeze the button fully but keep following the bike.

Then it comes down to practise.

Thanks Andrew.
Some useful tips there, hopefully I'll get an opportunity to try them out soon,

I might sit on the road outside my house and start photographing strangers as they drive past to get some practice. I'm sure it won't look strange at all! :naughty:

Practice on roads, and you can get into race circuits for free on track days and testing days. Its only race weekends that an entry fee is charged.