Godox Ad 400 pro battery

Name
Gary
Edit My Images
Yes
Another Ad400 question.

I recently purchased a Ad 400pro. I am only a hobbyist so don't use the strobe to any great degree but do like to play and try and learn the lighting.

I also have an Ad200 which I have owned for quite some time the battery is amazing I seem to be able to use it for ages before charging. In fact It as never run out on me I just charge it before then.

The Ad400 seems very poor in that regard or maybe I am doing something wrong. I know it as the model light so that would drain power. I have hardly used that to be honest as I forget it's there as I've never used one before.

Is there a way I can test this so I can see if it as a fault ?

Hope someone can advise.

Thanks

Gaz

AD400Pro modeling LED is one of the brighter ones for a battery-powered head. Rated at 30W, it will run for around 75mins at full power, but only if the flash isn't used. With the flash also firing, that time could drop pretty quickly. If you don't have a spare battery to hand, then turn the modelling LED down if you don't need it super bright (or off). In theory, if you turn it down to 50% then it'll last twice as long.

@HoppyUK

Hi Richard.

Thanks for the reply.

I take on board what you are saying regarding the modeling light. I have never used it at full power. Just one press of the button which is lower power and literally on for less than 1 minute and often not used at all.

Would it do the strobe no harm to fully charge it and leave the model light on full power to test how long it takes to deplete the battery ?

Gaz

@HoppyUK

Hi Richard.

Thanks for the reply.

I take on board what you are saying regarding the modeling light. I have never used it at full power. Just one press of the button which is lower power and literally on for less than 1 minute and often not used at all.