Greek Milky Way

Name
Ben
Edit My Images
Yes
Just got back from a week away in Rhodes, Greece. Thought id make use of having clear skies for once to put the new X-T3 through its paces and try and photo the milky way. Struggled for any decent compositions and ive messed up the focus and exposure on some of the foregrounds but the milky way seems to have come out ok. I also dont fully trust the focus peaking and Samyang 12mm combination. I often seem to get soft results despite it looking in focus in camera.

I'm a newbie at astrophotography so still learning to focus and expose properly in the pitch black.

Fuji X-T3 and Samyang 12mm F2.

DSCF7300IXT-Edit.jpg DSCF7319IXT-Edit.jpg DSCF7323IXT-Edit.jpg

Last edited:
A lot of the sharpness and iq has been lost on the image compression and uploading. Does anyone know how to upload without destroying the photo?

What was your exif on these???

Fuji X-T3
Samyang 12mm
ISO 3200-4000
20 Seconds Exp

They look alright on my laptop at home, but not great on here. Dont think I'm uploading them properly compared to some other images on here which still look pretty good.

Exif is fine and the sort of settings you need for Astro, so I would be expecting a lot more detail in the images. Do you optimise/downsize for posting on here? If single shots I use PS, but for batch processing I use iRfan view, as I can downsize, re-name 100’s of images very quickly for use on FB & here, size wise I normally use 1,600 pixels on the longest side as this also allows images to be used at Camera Clubs & is small enough to see but not too big

Fuji X-T3
Samyang 12mm
ISO 3200-4000
20 Seconds Exp

They look alright on my laptop at home, but not great on here. Dont think I'm uploading them properly compared to some other images on here which still look pretty good.

What f number?
I've a Samyung 12mm using it on a Canon 5D mk3. I tend to find sharp focus isn't at the infinite point but just back.