Have some Wedding Photographers lost the plot

Les McLean

In Memoriam
Name
Les
Edit My Images
Yes
Over the last few weeks I've looked at a good number of Wedding shoots that have been posted on TP, while I've been generally impressed with the creativity and quality, some were more style over substance, and the odd few were just plain poor.

My niggle is more about inclusion (or exclusion), while the modern trend is away from the more formal set shots, (particularly group shots) towards a funkier, of the wall informal shots. Isn't there room in the mix for the more traditional shots, e.g Bride/groom+ best man+bridesmaids, bride/groom +brides parents etc etc

It was this post that got me thinking along these lines

http://www.rossharveyweddings.com/weddings/wedding-photographer-norfolk-kelly-tom

While I have no criticism of Ross as a photographer, I think he is very good, but looking through the storyboard, I couldn't see one 'formal' group shot.
It got me considering, that perhaps in 20 years time when the bride/groom are looking back through their wedding images, will they want to see the shots with Mum & Dad & Aunty Ethel and Uncle Bob , or an off the wall obscure image with processing that looked dead cool at the time but very dated now?

Way, way back when I used to do the odd wedding (in film days), I second shot a few weddings to get some valuable experience, the wedding pro gave me this nugget 'Make sure you get every guest at least once in an image or you will never be forgiven or forgotten by somebody'

Is it me, am I too 'traditional' in my way of thinking, or has wedding photography moved to a more relaxed style and this is generally the norm nowadays?

Well I can't speak for Ross and I don't post my weddings here either. But when I post weddings on the blog I'm very careful about my 'brand' and trying to show the differences between me and A N Other Photographer.