Head help

I really think a gimbal type head would be a pain in the arse for the bigma. They rely on balancing the lens (unless that manfrotto one is different, i have no experience of it).
With the large expansion of the bigma as it zooms, the head would have to be re-balanced all the time, unless you dont mind that or use it at one focal length.

With a 500 or 600 prime is obviously a different story

I really think a gimbal type head would be a pain in the arse for the bigma. They rely on balancing the lens (unless that manfrotto one is different, i have no experience of it).
With the large expansion of the bigma as it zooms, the head would have to be re-balanced all the time, unless you dont mind that or use it at one focal length.

With a 500 or 600 prime is obviously a different story

I see what you mean, thinking about it i would prob be using it at 500mm most of the time anyway maybe even with a convertor on it until i can upgrade the lens

Get the Manfrotto 393. It comes with a lens plate anyway, and I have no trouble balancing my 500mm f4L on it.

The other one is a shameless copy of the Wimberley gimbal at about a fifth of the price. I'm not saying it's rubbish, but I'm just recommending what I know will work for you.

Get the Manfrotto 393. It comes with a lens plate anyway, and I have no trouble balancing my 500mm f4L on it.

The other one is a shameless copy of the Wimberley gimbal at about a fifth of the price. I'm not saying it's rubbish, but I'm just recommending what I know will work for you.

Cheers ct consider it ordered:D I guess i will be able to pan with it and also do the screws on the side hold the head stil when i let the camera go (if you know what i mean) Also will my 190xpro handle it ok, sorry for all the ?s

Your current legs will be fine until you get a real monster lens I reckon.