Hello from the Isle of Wight

Sky

Name
Trevor
Edit My Images
Yes
Hi everyone,

My name is Trevor. I thought I'd better say hello as I've been lurking for a couple of days now having found the site from a link posted on Photography-Forum that I've recently joined. Hi again if you use both. :rolleyes:

I'm a retired electronics engineer and flying instructor and I started taking pictures in the 1960s with a little 35mm Halina my dad had given me (I still have it in the attic somewhere). I bought myself an OM1 in the seventies and an OM4 in the eighties and took photos of my kids, their mates, landscapes and quite a few of aeroplanes. As much as I would have loved to have taken it more seriously there was never the time due to work, family and other after work commitments. :(

In all those years, I haven't really improved, so it's about time I started to do that. Now that I'm retired I'm hoping to be able to dedicate more time to it and become something more than just 'that bloke with a camera'. I'm new to DSLRs which seem to be amazing from what I've seen so far - especially the price of film, but have always had a snappy digital close by. :D

I picked up a used D3200 a few weeks ago to see if the digital bug bites (I think it has) and if it does will treat myself to one of it's big brothers. I also picked up a Nikkor 18-105 and 55-200 to use with it.

I'm new to Photoshop as well, so I'm looking forward to seeing what I can do with that. I've used ACDSee Pro for a few years, but have never really used that to it's potential.

I'm familiar with the forum software as I'm a Supermod/Admin on another XenForo forum, so hopefully I'll have no trouble in that department. ;)

Anyway, I don't want to bore you all so I'll shut up. I look forward to mixing with you, learning from you and hopefully in time be able to return the favour sometime in the future.

Regards,

Trevor