HELP!! Camera repair

Name
David
Edit My Images
Yes
Hi all,
This is my first post on here. I would like to introduce myself.

My names David I am an amateur surf and wildlife photographer. Just do it because I enjoy being out doors. Keen surfer myself and I walk my dog everywhere. My wife is also I pretty good photographer (better than me) she uses film more than digital though.

As you can tell by the title I am in need of help. My 7d won't autofocus any more. Although this isn't the end of the world and I can manually focus shooting watersports or any moving animals I can't auto focus quick enough. So I do need it. The problem is one of the contacts has become perminantly stuck in so is no longer making contact. I have spoken to canon rcc in elstree they quoted 60pph labour with the cost of the part and vat. Also contacted fixation they're around the same although it's a maximum of 120 for labour.

Does any body have any good but not as expensive places that can repair my 7d mk1. I live in Cardiff but I can post.

I should add aswell that I normally wouldn't scrimp on camera repairs but I have a baby due in June and every penny counts at this moment in time.

Thanks for taking the time to read this. Look forward to getting to know a few of you and sharing my work.

Regards
David

To help you put things in perspective David.

I sent my D3 for a service at Nikon in Kingston uT last year. Got a message to say that my bayonet mount want distorted...got a new one fitted and the camera serviced and still paid about £135.

Year before, my Pentax K5 and 100 macro got blown over by some wind. 100mm macro broke in half. Fixed for £80 by pentax's agents (Johnson's Photopia).

I like Fixations in Vauxhall but my other half who is a Canon user has used both Canon and Fixation for repair and has no complaints..I don't think your repair is going to break the bank to be honest.

Finally, CROESO!, welcome to the fold.