Beginner Help in selecting Lens.

Name
Eshan
Edit My Images
Yes
Hello,

I've been a (very) longtime lurker on this forum, reading and slowly gathering information and inspiration. I am by no means a pro photographer, just someone who likes to take pics leisurely, mainly of family, friends and kids. Now that I finally have a decent camera, I would like to concentrate/nurture my skills towards portrait photography.

My story is... recently I was gifted a Sony A7ii which came with the ZEISS 24-70mm f/4 Lens. From reading posts on various threads on here and on the web, the lens doesn't seem to have a good reputation and would like to know if it's worth keeping the lens or part exchanging for something else?

I have a friend who works in a camera store and can get a decent trade in value for the lens and has also offered me staff discount for a future purchase. I've read good things about the Tamron 28-75 f2.8 and would like to know if this a step in the right direction or is the Sony lens not as bad as what I've been reading?

Any advise or recommendations would be appreciated.

Last edited:
My advice: Use the lens. Decide whether it it good enough for your requirements. Then if you decide it isn't, you'll know why it isn't, and you'll know what you're looking for in an upgrade.

A f2.8 lens will add the ability to use f2.8, obviously :D so there's that :D

But as I've just posted in another thread I'm often not a great fan of very thin depth of field people pictures so f2.8 or is f4 enough is something I'd think about. Other than that I'm usually not a great fan of razor sharp people pictures and usually prefer a "look" to a sharp picture so there's that to think about too and if one lens is sharper than another I might just not care :D