Help mounting vintage lens to DLSR

Name
MR CONNAN P J HENRY-MADDEN
Edit My Images
No
Hey guys!

So I have a Canon EOS 1100D(Rebel T3) and was looking to mount a Helios 44-2 onto there - which outside of an adapter I can do, no problems.
But as my 1100D(Rebel T3) is a crop sensor I wanted to get an focal reducer to make the most of the lens but I am struggling to find one - I'm new to this sort of thing so unsure if I've come across it already and was just unaware or that the EF/S mount just wont work and I'd need to buy another adapter.

Any help on this would be great!

Hi and welcome to TP

I have never heard of a focal reducer, so had to look it up. The only reference I could find was it's use with adaptions associated with telescopes.

So I am unsure what your requirement is?

As you say you can get an M42 to Canon EF mount adaptor to attach the lens to the 1100D, so just where in the light path would you expect to fit a focal reducer?

PS I have cross referenced and found that the Metabones Speedbooster meets the role so perhaps talk to them?

Though a quick look did not reveal an M42 to EF mount version?

Last edited:
Focal reducer/ speed booster would go between the lens and the body of the camera - yeah they are used to aid in making telescopic lens but in this case it will allow me to alter the crop factor of my 1100D so my sensor can perfectly line up with the 35mm vintage lens.
The pipeline I believe would go: lens - converter - focal reducer - converter - body
I am exploring this all fresh myself so I am unsure if my method is right.

Here is the article that bought this all to my attention:

Here is a lil' something on the focal reducers:
View: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qvKySaO2RSY&ab_channel=wolfcrow

The M42 to EF adapter is too thin to physically allow a speed booster type adapter. It is literally a 1mm thick adapter.

I would imagine speed boosters are only available for mirrorless.