Help! my alt key does not work.

Galaxy66

Jeremy Beadle
Name
My name is Mal not Jeremy :)
Edit My Images
Yes
Is there a way of testing the alt key on my laptop other than attempting to use it, I am not that fluent with computers so you may understand or even laugh:LOL: when I say I have never used the key before but tonight when I have attempted to use the clone stamp in CS3 it does not appear to work.

Could it have been disabled in some way or is my out of warranty lappy boogered.:(

You could try holding alt and pressing f4 - If this page closes then it is working :)

press Alt and one of your left/right arrow keys , it should go forwards/backwards through your pages on internet explorer

You could try holding alt and pressing f4 - If this page closes then it is working :)

press Alt and one of your left/right arrow keys , it should go forwards/backwards through your pages on internet explorer

Nothing happens:(

Boogered:(

Annoying if it is as I have managed so far not to use it, it was not a cheap one being the latest Toshiba Satellite at the time IIRC 2 years ago.:(

What type of computer do you have? Assuming PC [as 95% of the population...], does it work in any other applications - in 99% of PC apps, it will highlight/select the menu bar [e.g. file, edit, etc. in word].

Also - just to check - there are usually [even on laptops] two alt keys - one marked alt, the other marked "alt gr" - you should be using alt [to the left of the space bar].

I don't know of any way to disable alt [although it would be a great practical joke tool if I did :naughty:], so if that isn't working, it might be, as you suggest "boogered".

The only other thing worth checking is to see whether you've managed to activate any of windows' "accessibility" options - you'll find them under the control panel, and some of them can do very strange things with your keyboard!

Hope that helps!

Ahh!! did not notice that bit:bonk:

I use Vista on Firefox but it does work in Explorer :shrug: