help needed with printers

Name
joel
Edit My Images
Yes
ok. im planning on getting my partner a printer, but im having a lot of trouble sifting through pages of reviews. it seems every review i see raves about how great this or that is and then lets you down with some bad point (such as red tinting on images) or leaves out information such as whether the cartridges are dye or pigment. needless to say im a novice (or idiot) when it comes to this, so heres hoping someone can help.

so here is what im looking for within my meagre budget of up to £200....

it doesnt matter if its an all-in-one or simply a dedicated photo printer
image quality is first priority and must be mac compatible (though i assume most brands are?)
preferably prints up to a3 size, though at least a4.
longest life prints i can get for the money.

any ideas? thanks for your time,

joel

ok. im planning on getting my partner a printer, but im having a lot of trouble sifting through pages of reviews. it seems every review i see raves about how great this or that is and then lets you down with some bad point (such as red tinting on images) or leaves out information such as whether the cartridges are dye or pigment. needless to say im a novice (or idiot) when it comes to this, so heres hoping someone can help.

so here is what im looking for within my meagre budget of up to £200....

it doesnt matter if its an all-in-one or simply a dedicated photo printer
image quality is first priority and must be mac compatible (though i assume most brands are?)
preferably prints up to a3 size, though at least a4.
longest life prints i can get for the money.

any ideas? thanks for your time,

joel

I'm in the same boat but for my new PC, so I'd be grateful for any tips too. (Sorry to barge in on your thread Joel but seemed a handy way to get info, hope you don't mind).

Joel

I think you'll struggle to get an A3 printer within you price bracket even with the deals that are on at the moment.