Help with lens

Name
Leah
Edit My Images
Yes
Hi guys. I have a canon 40d, with a 18-55mm lens, and I have just bought a 55-250mm f/4-5.6 lens.

I am very new to photography but just wanted to ask how to make the best of the lens to get good landscape photos as I am going to Wales this weekend and might be walking up snowdon!

You might think that you are framing and making a record of scenery - which is, let's say, a 'thing'. But what a camera records is light - so pay attention to that - ie light and shade - its recordable range, and how it is diposed within the frame. Also, especially when high up, your enemy will probably be atmospheric haze, and with a longer lens this will be even more pronounced. So consider that too.

It's easier said than done but the best chance of light and less haze would be in the morning. Means climbing up in the dark though! I used to find telephoto landscapes harder, but keep to the same formula as a wide - something in the foreground with plenty to look at up to the frame to the background.