Beginner Help with Nikon D5300

Name
Esther
Edit My Images
Yes
I'm an absolute beginner so my 2 problems may not be problems at all and just the way camera is so please bear with me!

Last week after many hours of reading up I purchased my first dslr, a Nikon D5300, one of the reasons was the 39 auto focus points which I assumed would be useful as I'll mainly be taking photos of my 2 young kids and the dogs which rarely keep still.
When I first tried the camera I'm sure the AF points were displayed in a grid on the lcd but now all that shows up when I half press the shutter is one square with a dot in the middle, the AF grid only shows through the viewfinder and not on the lcd screen. I'm starting to think they were never on the lcd at all yet I'm sure they were.

Also when I take a photo I hear the click then the screen goes black for a couple of seconds then there's another click before the image then shows up on the screen, therefore I can't take several photos in quick succession manually because each one is taking so long the kids/dogs have moved before I get chance to take another.

Thanks in advance for any help.

Rather than offer you various possibilities, may I suggest you study the manual that came with the camera. If you've been knob twiddling or button pushing randomly, as we all like to do with a new camera, then possibly you've changed some basic settings, e.g. you may have inadvertently set a long exposure. Nikon's manuals are bit of a torture to work through, but stick with it! Not an answer but hope it helps!

The 39 auto focus points only show in the viewfinder, and not in liveview. In liveview you have the option of face priority AF, Wide area AF, Normal area AF or Subject tracking AF.

I would imagine that for shooting animals and kids moving around Subject-tracking AF would be that better option.