Beginner Help with studio light please.

Name
Simon
Edit My Images
Yes
Hi all. Im new to studio lighting and after some advice from you good people, as I have turned my garage into a studio :)
I've read up on different lighting setups for portraits, and wondered if you can use these setups for products, items etc? Don't see myself doing portraits (maybe odd family shot) but more creative stuff. I have been playing around with lighting my bike and have taken shots with lights placed in different places, different power settings and taken shots with just one light on to see where the light falls then adding one more light at a time. I used a black backdrop so that I could see the difference the light made against the black of the bike.
I will be purchasing a large white backdrop and would like to photograph my bike against a white background and floor. Will the backdrop and floor need to be lit with separate lights to turn out white? or will the current light set up I'm using be enough? (see below)

Below is a shot of my bike, straight out of the camera, lit with four lights. Your advice and criticism on how to improve it would be appreciated.

Lighting setup: One front strobe at 45* on the left, one front strobe at 45* on the right, one strobe 45* behind on the right (fitted with honeycomb to stop the light falling on the backdrop), one strobe in the middle behind the backdrop facing down.
Lights; 2 x Interfit Stellar150, 2 x Interfit EX150
Camera setting; F5.6, 1/200, iso100

Many thanks, Simon.

Last edited:
That's a pretty decent first effort.