Home development

Name
Bryan
Edit My Images
Yes
Hey everyone - Its about time I sort my life out!

I'll be honest, I'm a bit bored of going down the pub most weekends and spending my time in front of the tv after work so its time to get my interests going again!

So - Money saved from going down the pub is going to go towards a new venture in photography - Home developing and scanning of my films! (Cliche as it sounds this really is the beginning of a new me - to save my self and my family :))
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
So first things first

Which development kit would you all recommend? I will mostly shoot Black and white although color may happen once in a while! I will have NO dark room so best will be kitchen/Bathroom

Best books/websites to read up on how to develop? - I have no real previous experience in this so treat me as a complete noob!

Best {read budget} way to scan my newly developed negatives onto my mac? - No real major interest in printing and If i do decide to print - I can always send them off

Cheapest place to buy bulk film, maybe out of date so I can practice en masse? - Unless it will make a MAJOR difference to developing whats the best way to practice?

Bry

Last edited:
7 day shop for film, you will likely only muff one up maybe 2

ilford chems for BnW I use tetenal E6 for colour slides

epson v500 to scan

:D

will also need to either dark bathroom or buy changing bag, a patterson tank and some measuring stuff

Film... Ebay, ERA/Lucky bw £18 for 10 or Rollei retro £33 for 20.

Iford ID-11 for developing, dev/stop/fix £30

Tank and bag, £20

Cheapie scanner £40 Ebay.

Book? No point unless you want to print.

Film: Legacy Pro- £24 for 10
Smallest bottles of ilford chemicals available (don't do it too often!)
A mixture of second hand tank, graduated flasks, bag, squeegie etc off of here
Canon canoscan 9000f scanner- the most expensive bit at £180 but very good for the money!