Home studio setup for pets

Name
Steve
Edit My Images
Yes
Hey Everyone,

Apologies if this has been asked before, but I had a search in the forums and couldn't find a thread on it that I understood (I fully realise the problem is me here =)) and I was hoping for some help.

I'm completely new to the idea of studio lighting/shooting and I was wondering what consists of a good setup, or what I need to do the job if I wanted to set a studio up for taking shots of pets and maybe some of the kids in the family (if there's a difference?). I'd ideally not want to spend much more than £200, but if that's unrealistic or I'm going to get something a bit better for not a lot more then I'm all ears.

I've had a look through the forums and gather that permanent light isn't the right direction to go down, but I saw a set of Interfit EX150 mkiii's on eBay and was wondering if they'd be up for the job?

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/142361555722?_trksid=p2060353.m1438.l2649&ssPageName=STRK:MEBIDX:IT

I know I'd also need a backdrop and stands, but would I need anything else?

Also, if anyone had an idiots guide to studio photography and lighting that they could recommend and share it'll probably save me bugging you guys in the future with stupid questions :D. I've ear marked the articles on digital photography school, but if anyone has anything else that makes a good resource then I'd be very grateful if you could share it.

Thanks!

You could start by reading through this section, there's hours of interesting stuff.

If you're happy to buy 2nd hand there's bargains galore available.

Some important stuff to bear in mind.

Don't buy the cheap Chinese lights with the built in reflectors often described as 'universal mount', the mount is the polar opposite of universal, somewhere between frustrating and dangerous.

Think about the mount, the 2 most popular are Bowens S fit and the Elinchrom fit, the mount is used to attach softboxes etc to the light.