Horse Photography

Name
Scott
Edit My Images
Yes
So a friend has asked me to shoot some portraits of her horse. I have never done this before and was wondering about the off camera flash type shots you see in the likes of Matthew Seed etc.

Firstly how do you go about using flash with a horse, will it be alright? Does it depend on the horse? Is there anyway to get it used to the flash?

Any other tips would be great.

Thanks.

It really depends on the horse, if it will be okay with a flash or not. I know many horses that wouldn't even be okay with the sound of the shutter alone, never mind the flash.
Always approach a horse from the front with a camera. If you or the owner are unsure:thinking: if the horse will be okay, don't sneak up on it from the back and jump out or you will most likely get a nasty surprise:runaway:. Horses don't see that well behind them and will kick out if they are afraid.
Start from a distance, not miles away, just 10 meters or so and work your way in. If the horse looks a bit spooked:cautious: then stop and give it a little time to calm down:cool: and try again.
Don't worry if it takes a while as the horse will most likely be fine from then on with cameras.
As with dogs and other animals some breeds are more highly strung and the individual animal can be very relaxed or highly strung.
As with most things habituation, or repeated exposure, will mean that the response will decrease.
My sisters Clydesdale barely bats an eyelid with cameras, but he never really minded them in the first place.
Some horses will never be okay with cameras so don't be too annoyed:bang: if this is one of them. There are no hard and fast rules.
Hope it all goes well!

Martin

Thanks Martin for the advice, I will see how it goes. With it being a friends horse I have plenty of time so should be able to try plenty.

Many thanks I will post some pictures after.

As said above depends on the horse.