How could I have improved this shot?

Name
Nick
Edit My Images
Yes
I went out wth a photographer friend of mine on a location shoot and he let me take a few using his lighting set up (2 x speed lights in an octobox) And I DID get some nice shots. tis one seems to have overexposed on her face somewhat. Is this just positioning of the light? or shutter speed? I'm secretly quite pleased with it, but I'd like to nail it next time I get the opportunity

TIA,

Nick

20haash.jpg

Thanks Den,

I actually bought it down a notch in LR as it looked so overexposed if that makes sense?

Thanks Den,

I actually bought it down a notch in LR as it looked so overexposed if that makes sense?

I'm only a novice but from the lightroom point of view

You can do selective exposure and many other alterations in lightroom with adjustment brush.

So you can try to tone down the face where it may have looked overexposed.

then bring the exposure up and color, vibrance up in the flowers and white dress or underexposed areas.

Its more advanced and I am only just starting to learn it but you can certainly tone down overexposed areas and lift up underexposed areas etc in the same picture

and I think your photo is an example where the adjustment brush could do well

Well, it depends on the look you want to achieve but I'd say that her face has about the right exposure and the rest of the picture is too dark. The flash was proabably to close to her face so the rest of the picture didn't get enough light. But you can fix that in post if you shot in RAW. Just make the surroundings around her face brighter in your RAW converter.

Reflector under her flowers may push some more light into that area. If you get it right "in camera" you will cut down on post processing.
Matt

Hi Nick,