Beginner How do I get a moving photo image, like a photo that shows movement?

Name
Rich
Edit My Images
Yes
Hi, I'm new to photography and am trying to take a photo that shows movement, like those which show water motion in a waterfall, or car lights at night when the light is lots of light lines.

I tried it on a ship moving, so I set the shutter speed to 1 second. But when I look at the image theres just too much light (just light). I dropped the ISO as far down as it could go (L1.0) but still got light.

I tried to something similar with a flag flying, but the same thing happened because of the bright sky background.

Could I increase the f value to it's maximum to reduce the aperture size (and let in less light), together with the decrease in ISO?

Just curious how I would do this?

Thank you for any advice.

Last edited:
Hi Rich, welcome to the forum.

So you want to take photos that show blur caused by movement. First question: do you know about the exposure triangle (shutter speed, aperture, sensitivity also called ISO)?

Your camera sensor requires a certain amount of light to generate a meaningful image. If you want to have the shutter open for longer then you need to make the aperture that lets light through the lens to be smaller to compensate. A smaller aperture requires a bigger f number (not logical, but there is a good reason). Sensitivity - ISO - affects the amount of light required to reach the sensor, higher ISO is more sensitive and requires less light.

You should also select the least sensitive native ISO setting, which is likely to be 100 or perhaps 200 - a setting like L1.0 is fudging things a bit, and is not really lower than base ISO.