Beginner How do they do that? Circular lighting effect

Name
Jessica Byrne
Edit My Images
Yes
Hey, total beginner, some floundering. I'm wanting to take beautiful photos of my handmade D&D dice. Being polyhedral shapes they look fantastic with this effect, but I have no idea how it's done

SO I'm new to this forum, therefore cannot post links, which is a pickle because I really need to show you what this is..... It's a bit too hard to describe but I'll do my best? Basically, if my product is stationary with a light that circles around it, so it'll showcase its facets and holographic glitter,

So if you were to type into google the following - Kickstarter, Dicebound. Then watch the short video

THIS IS NOT MY PRODUCT NOR AN ADVERT FOR IT- I just want to know how to do THAT lighting effect.

For the equipment I have I'm only taking pics with my phone and a macro lens. I have the cheapest of cheap nasty lightboxes, and tiny tripod.

The starting point to work out how something is lit is generally to look at the shadows.
So the main lightsource starts above the dice, but off to the side a bit, then appears to move round in an oval shape to light from above but to the back, then above but to the other side, etc.

One of the several experts should be able to give a more comprehensive reply (or correct me if I've got it wrong!)

I actually tried to do something like this with a torch. I put my stuff in a lightbox and tried to circle the torch around them. It just looked terrible! It could just be that I was doing it badly

The starting point to work out how something is lit is generally to look at the shadows.

This.

I just looked at the first few seconds and it looks like the light source moves from left to right with a camera-fade-out at the end. I didn't see any rotation, but I am no expert either.

For the equipment I have I'm only taking pics with my phone and a macro lens. I have the cheapest of cheap nasty lightboxes, and tiny tripod.