How to improve this picture??

Edit My Images
Yes
Saw an opportunity for a good shot so snapped it off but was wondering how to improve it. Only post processing is resize & change to B&W

Sunset.jpg

Be gentle. It's my first time ;-)

Damn! That's a fine image to be starting with!

My initial thoughts are that there is a fair bit of expanse between the sunset and the high clouds which makes it feel a bit lost.

Maybe a landscape crop rather than portrait?

Thanks for the responses Sammy.

I know what you mean with the crop, but one of the things that I like about this image is the scale of it all (insignificant child in a big world).

I was wondering if I could fiddle with the levels or something to sharpen the clouds and loose some of the detail in the immediate foreground. Not sure how to do it though :confused- .

Ok, cool ,no problem.

To boost the clouds you need to play with the curves, boosting high values and reducing low values. Bascially makeing an S shaped curve.

But this will also affect the bottom part of the image so you may want to do this as an adjustment layer with a graduated mask.

Ask, if I seem to be talking Spanish here. ;)

Yes. That's more the kind of thing I was heading for. Little too 'blue' but I could fix that.

Here's a different version for ya:-

Sunset.jpg

If you still have original colour shot, try duplicating layer & converting one with 100% red in Channel mixer, for sky & the other 100% Green for foreground. Use layer mask to combine the 2.

SammyC said:
Ok, cool ,no problem.

But this will also affect the bottom part of the image so you may want to do this as an adjustment layer with a graduated mask.

Ask, if I seem to be talking Spanish here. ;)

yeah could please translate to english

Cheers
Pete

Hey Pete, no problem.