How to improve?

Edit My Images
Yes
Newbie here.

I'm a keen bird photographer - started on a 30x zoom bridge camera and then a few months ago upgraded to my first DSLR, a Nikon D3400 and got the 55-300mm lens to go with it.

I've been getting to grips with the camera and feel that I understand what all the settings do and what situations to broadly increase/reduce them in, but feel I now want to understand the finer details and how to really get the image that I want.

How do you approach improving? Is it best to seek out a formal course? Or are there good internet guides or books?

Is there a limit to how good an image taken on a D3400 will be? I see some stunning images on Flickr I'd die to take, but when I nosy at their equipment they are taken on £3k worth of Canon 5D + telephoto lens or similar, which I will just never be able to afford!

I don't want to win any global competitions or anything but I do want to capture birds as I saw them in that moment, to take home with me as memories, if that makes sense.

Any advice appreciated :)

Get a big flash :)

Then paste that into a suitable background :)

There's no reason why you can't take great photos with a D3400. The lens is probably the weaker link (in your shoes I'd start a piggy bank to slowly put money away for a Nikon 200-500.) but it won't stop you developing your skills. Fieldcraft is the important 'tool' for nature photographers and that acquiring that only costs time.

The answer is just keep practising, read & post in the Talk Nature subforum, read websites like NatureTTL.com, fill your Instagram timeline with professional nature photographers, stop paying attention to the gear behind photos on Flickr and start paying attention to the situation and fieldcraft instead, read books like 'Bird Photographers Handbook' or 'Wildlife Photography Field skills and techniques'...