How to setup narrowband wifi ?

DJW

Edit My Images
Yes
OK, inlaws want the advantage of wireless for their laptop, but sticking to normal dial up (narrowband). Anybody have any advice on setup required ?

I'm fine with broadband wifi as have had it for 3-4 years now....but this one has me stumped.

I am no expert on this but it shouldn't really matter if their internet is broadband or not?

What you will have to do though is run it through a main rig first and have that send the wireless info to the lappy, so you are basically setting up a home network.

If you wish to use just the laptop and were thinking of buying a "wirless router" to feed the internet then as far as I am aware there are no products available which contain a dial up modem as part of the router. Maybe the manufacturers figure that if you are advanced enough to use wireless then you are likely to be using broadband?

or you could get a router, just a 4 port jobbie and connect that all in?

...but if they only have a laptop & no base unit to connect Network to normally ? They can't justify broadband as a) pensioners & b) do not use enough to justify......but still want to be able to connect portabley round house without wires. SO demanding these people ;)

I would personally use a very cheap pc to route the dial up to a wireless router and then use the lappy to connect to that.

Its a shame I am no longer in the UK as I had loads of bits that would have been good enough to create a basic system good enough for that purpose. You could have had them for nothing. :(

Cheers Steve.......I've already offered them a basic PC for nowt, but they just don't want extra kit :(. Found a wireless telephone extension that seems halfway house here. Basically as long as near a plug in house they could connect. Half tempted to scan for any neighbours with WIFI & see if they could piggy back on them ;)