How to you pick your locations?

Edit My Images
Yes
im new to landscape photography and just curious how do people go about picking a location for the next shooting session?

What do you look for?

Sorry if it's a common thread if there's an open one please could someone link it.

Danny

Its a voyage of discovery:-

I research locations through books and the internet (sites like Shothotspot can be helpful, along with Google Images, Flickr 500px), I then build up a list of places that I think are worthy of a visit and include places that I am personally interested in, at the moment I'm visiting a number of Welsh Slate Quarries. So firstly build a bucket list.

Then when I know I have some time available, I look at weather forecasts local to regions on that list, that way I can hopefully get the location I want with the intended weather. Sunrise/Sunset times are also relevant, and if shooting seaside; tide tables. I find the site tides4fishing useful.

Then there is Photograhers Ephemeris to help you plan the angle of the sun, Ordnance Survey for the maps, Google Earth for the terrain overview

Of course you could just post or join a thread in the TP Meeting Place section........

• Where are you located?
  • How far are you willing to travel?
  • What sort of landscapes are you interested in shooting?

I look at maps. If you can read a map and have some basic general knowledge about the movement of the sun, tides and weather you'll get a few ideas. Some will be better than others, and sometimes you might find a location that's promising but not on the day you find it. So you make a mental note and go back again when you think the conditions will be better.

If you're really stuck.. I find "out the door, turn left and follow your nose" works quite well.

Its a voyage of discovery:-