Hoya Filter ? Genuine ?

  • Thread starter Thread starter Deleted member 23476
  • Start date Start date
D

Deleted member 23476

Guest
Hi all,
Been offered a Hoya Pro 1 62mm for my lens from a friend, he said he paid £25 for it and would let me have it for £15. Now i know he isent trying to rip me off but i feel he himself has been ripped off as he got it off ebay and £25 seems very cheap considering there usual retail.

Was wondering is there anyway to spot a fake ?
 
Last edited by a moderator:
There are many fake filters.

Do the letters appear in odd font? Are there excessive reflection on the filter like looking at an ordinary glass (there should be very little)? What is the tint of these reflections (it should be green if genuine).

If they are not genuine your friend should file a complaint via ebay / paypal for selling fakes, and not try to pass them on.
 
Hi all,
Been offered a Hoya Pro 1 62mm for my lens from a friend, he said he paid £25 for it and would let me have it for £15. Now i know he isent trying to rip me off but i feel he himself has been ripped off as he got it off ebay and £25 seems very cheap considering there usual retail.

Was wondering is there anyway to stop a fake ?

You mean SPOT a fake? Quality mate, easy to spot. The fake ones tend to rattle in the outer ring. I am sure, (almost) that they are lighter too!
 
There are many fake filters.

Do the letters appear in odd font? Are there excessive reflection on the filter like looking at an ordinary glass (there should be very little)? What is the tint of these reflections (it should be green if genuine).

If they are not genuine your friend should file a complaint via ebay / paypal for selling fakes, and not try to pass them on.

Everything looked ok to me but im never any good at spotting fake goods. If its helps this is the seller he got it from http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Hoya-Pro1-Dig...sFilters_JN&hash=item2c566a7cac#ht_500wt_1154

As a say i know my friend isent trying to rip me off as he sold the lens he was using it on so has genuine reason to get rid of it all i was thinking is when he said £25 he got it for i thought it was stupidly cheap and must be a fake or something.

As ebay seller says its been used may ask him for a receipt see what he says

You mean SPOT a fake? Quality mate, easy to spot. The fake ones tend to rattle in the outer ring. I am sure, (almost) that they are lighter too!
Yes i did my mistake, Having never actually used a Hoya Pro 1 i don't know the wait but next time i see him again i will see if it rattles. Thanks for the advice.
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Everything looked ok to me but im never any good at spotting fake goods. If its helps this is the seller he got it from http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Hoya-Pro1-Dig...sFilters_JN&hash=item2c566a7cac#ht_500wt_1154

As a say i know my friend isent trying to rip me off as he sold the lens he was using it on so has genuine reason to get rid of it all i was thinking is when he said £25 he got it for i thought it was stupidly cheap and must be a fake or something.

As ebay seller says its been used may ask him for a receipt see what he says

To be honest 2nd hand UV filter in a less popular size may cost around £25. If it doesn't look fake it probably isn't then. If anything 77mm is the "expensive" thread.
 
Well without seeing the actual filter, I must say it looks OK. The sale was from a private seller and stated as used, so you MAY just have a bargain there!
 
Well without seeing the actual filter, I must say it looks OK. The sale was from a private seller and stated as used, so you MAY just have a bargain there!

Hmm i know it is a private sale but my friend bought this a good few months ago and i somehow cant see this guy having loads used im still pretty sceptical. But as you say for £15 it is a bargain if it is genuine so may buy it off him. If its not genuine well then ive at least shared the cost with him.

Is this not the same?
http://www.premier-ink.co.uk/photog...hoya-62mm-pro1d-protection-filter-p-1947.html

if so i guess £25 used from ebay is fair?

Hmmm i suppose good point there.
 
unfortunately, I bought 2x 77mm HMC Hoya filters from ebay and I didnt even bothered to open them as I knew they were fake.

You can tell from the rear of the packing, the serial barcode number ought to have an actual description of the filter you are purchasing.

Mine didnt and I compared the case to a genuine one I bought and the differences were subtle.

Have a look at this article:

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/682552/+40

Cheers,

Andy

P.S I did get my money back from the ebay seller.
 
Hard to tell from that picture but the packaging looks genuine compared to mine, I have the 67mm and cost me a lot more than £25.

I reckon that at £15 it's got to be worth a punt, not a lot of money to loose and if it is genunie then its a bargain.
 
Back
Top