Beginner I am confused about which camera i should buy.

Name
Demir
Edit My Images
No
I have no background about photographing and I want to learn. I like arty, monochrome, grainy, old, retro looks and also great pastel tones or colorful neon lights. Quickly i want to buy a camera and start to learn street photographing. I am thinking to buy Canon G7 X mark2 or Fujifilm X10/X20. The prices are similar. I don't have too much budget and i want to carry my camera to anywhere easily. For my research Canon looks better but the photos taken by Fujifilm looks like to me has more characteristic in it. Probably it is about the person who take the photo or prejudgment. Taken a photo which is similar to my requests is based on a person or camera? Or is there any features that someone can and the other one can not? And also fujijilm has a film effects in it, is there anything like that in Canon or possible to load? Yes i have a lot of question if i asked a stupid question, İ am sorry i don't have enough information. I am waiting to your recommendation.

Last edited by a moderator:
I just recently bought a Sony RX100 mk vi. It is unbelievably good and tiny. I think for street photography it would be perfect. Those effects that you want are better applied in something like Lightroom I would say, although you can of course achieve grain naturally if you want. The main thing I like about the Sony is probably the sharpness and the quality of the autofocus.
I only have experience of Micro 4/3 and APS otherwise but I’m only using the RX100 at the moment.

Hi @demir

Just some things to consider?

As you have noted some makes & models have onboard jpeg engines that will create a range of specific 'looks'. But bear in mind these are very fixed/formulaic, so having a computer and editing software to learn how to "create your own look" IMO is possibly more important than the incamera processing.