I am so confused!

Name
Lucy-Tuesday
Edit My Images
No
Hello everyone!

I hope someone can give me advice, because I'm running around in circles! :)

I am a complete newbie, looking to make a serious venture into the DSLR world. I have been looking for a while now, and I've come down to two choices, either the Nikon D40 for 239 quid or a Sony A200 @ 259. Wherever I go, people are suggesting other models for different reasons and its getting frustrating! I am inclined not to listen to the salespeople as they obviously have a hidden agenda! :bonk: So Im looking to you guys to share your words of wisdom. Obviously I want the best for my money and scope to by lenses/accessories easily.

I would appreciate anything anyone has to say!

Thanks guys(y)

Lucy

Welcome to the forum.

Speaking as a relatively newbie myself, I can fully recommend the D40 as a perfect 'starter camera' (I have the D40x but they're essentially the same camera). It's incredibly easy to use and the settings and menus aren't too bewildering and perfect to get to grips with what everything does.

I can't however speak for the Sony.

With regards to lenses, try and identify what it is you're going to be taking pictures of (portrait shots, landscapes, close up work etc...) and then we'll be able to suggest suitable lenses for you :)

Best of luck with it all

Dave

I don't think you'll be dissapointed with either of those. My advice is try and get your hands on them both and see which feels more comfortable. The image quality of both is terrific so just go for the one you feel happiest with.

how have you narrowed it down to them two, is this by holding and trialing them or the price?

if you havent already, have a good feel of each and have a play around. you may find you dislike one down to the feel.

as for which is best, that a difficult one. nikon is obviously bigger in the DSLR world, but i think the sony can use all the old minolta fit lenses.

what do you want to take pictures of?