I got an old lady to pose for me...

I dont particularly like it.

The fact that I dont like it makes no difference to the queen, Bailey or anybody else.

There are so called 'technical' reasons I dislike it. the focal length shot at, the way shes leaning 'out' of the frame etc.

Its a nice pleasing expression but I have no real knowledge or interest in the subject matter for that to elevate the portrait for me.

I feel no need to critique this image - Its shot by an 'artist' with more knowledge and
experience than me.

I cant help but think that this is perhaps the only shot with this expression? maybe the others are 'better' framed etc but this is the only one in which there is a genuine smile? I dunno.

True but he only gets away with it because he's david bailey - so its like art innit , if one of us took a picture like that of a standard client and then told them "well portraits don't hasve to be flattering y'know" by way of justification we wouldn't stay in business very long

That's true.

But only if you are in the business of shooting Venture stylee, cookie cutter portraiture.

True but he only gets away with it because he's david bailey - so its like art innit , if one of us took a picture like that of a standard client and then told them "well portraits don't hasve to be flattering y'know" by way of justification we wouldn't stay in business very long

What is he "getting away with" exactly? The only reason an "amateur" wouldn't "get away with it" is because their peers would also be obsessing over the technicalities and also missing the point. Bailey hasn't "got away" with anything at all. He's taken perhaps the most engaging portrait of the Queen I've seen to date. If that's getting away with it... then perhaps more people need to "get away" with not obsessing over technical details more.

Last edited: