Beginner I need help :)

Name
Abby
Edit My Images
Yes
Hey, I'm just starting a photography course and I am really new to this! Can someone please send me a link or help me, I need to know what type of lens is used to specific types of photography.
Thank you!

Hi Abby and welcome to TP! It's really hard to help knowing so little about you, your camera, and the sorts of photography in your course. When I started (a long time ago), a 50mm lens was the best starting point for maximum flexibility and cheapness. If yours is the sort of course that still encourages the use of film cameras like the Pentax K1000, then I'd suggest a Pentax 50mm. But most modern cameras have some sort of "kit" zoom lens (eg 18-55 in APS-C cameras), and you should be able to achieve a lot with those. Good luck, any way.

ChrisR, thanks so much for responding to my plee for help :)
I don't have camera yet and the course is just a freelance photography course.
It really only covers SLR's and DSLR's.
My first assignment gives me a list of equipment, i.e. different types on lenses, filters and other equipment along with 10 scenarios that I have to match the equipment with.
I'm just stuck on what the best type of lens is for different types of photography.
The scenarios vary from photographs of artwork, sport, food and lots more.

I'm going to be brutally honest here, basing my comments on both of your posts.

It sounds as though you may be trying to run before you can walk from the description of the course.

I'd either enrol at a local night collage and take basic photography lessons or follow an online course (plenty about).

You really ought to understand kit, how it works and the technical basics of photography like exposure before attempting to learn specific genres.
Much more so if this is for business, which it sounds like the course is.

I'm going to be brutally honest here, basing my comments on both of your posts.