If a lion......

Name
Matt
Edit My Images
Yes
..........could talk, we would still not understand him"

I read in the news today about some lioness and cubs in a zoo that had been put down, (story here) and it got me thinking about animals in captivity etc.

It took me back to a shot I took of a lion at Chester Zoo when I first got a DSLR, I remember the pose looked thoughtful and sad, so I decided to create something I've never done before to show how reading that story made me feel. I know this may be too much for some people but if you like it feel free to comment.

Hope it comes across.

I called it "If a lion could talk, we still would not understand him"

If a lion could talk, we could not understand him.
by mattd85, on Flickr

Last edited:
I actually really like the processing on that, and I can see what it is you were trying to convey. If im being picky, id like to see a little more space between the head and the edge of the frame.

I could imagine it as a carving with some thoughtful words/a poem carved into the right hand side.

Very nice.

I could always put the title down the right hand side or crop it in a little, I will have a play and see if I can add some space to the top.

Thanks.

Matt

really like this,i agree if you put the "If a lion could talk, we still would not understand him" quote on the right i think that would look great.

I like it too....it has a feel of 'loneliness' about it, and, I think the empty space on the right had side should be left as it is ....

I like this too, and agree with Solo man that the empty space should be left where it is, for me it heightens the sense of loneliness.

Very nicely processed, great expression too.
I'm gonna be awkward here and say I understand, what you are doing with the negative space,
And its very effective.
But I think there is too much of it. (by half)

Unless of course there was a poem / eulogy etc there,
and it was printed as a card or wall hanging.