I'm looking for a FREE photo editing application.

BML

Name
Brian
Edit My Images
Yes
I am looking for a free photo editing app as I am an aboslute beginner but every so called free app I open finishes up asking for money. If I ever reach a reasonable phtographic standard I may well think it worth buying a pay for app but I'm fed up with folf attempting to screw me.

Hi and welcome to TP

I note from your profile that you have the Canon 300D.

Can I suggest that you download the software that Canon give with their cameras Digital Photo Pro (DPP) it should be a good enough starting point that "knows" your camera and will aid your learning as to how to process your pictures. Yes, you might find it wanting in due course but you did say free (though other free software do exist!

NB the 300D is very old legacy camera and by suggesting DPP I am surmising that the most current version (running on perhaps Windows 10) will also handle the 300D files. NB it seems that oddly(?) DPP as it has developed does not support older legacy bodies :thinking::banghead::banghead:

Last edited:
Photoshop express appears to still be free from the Microsoft app store.

If you have the 300D did you get a cd with it as the chance is the right version of DPP will be on it.

Last edited:
However also a very good chance that it won't run on Windows 10...

DigiKam, RawTherapee, Dark Table and GIMP are probably the premier free image developers and editors. If you just want quick & dirty edits then Irfanview is very effective.

If you have the 300D did you get a cd with it as the chance is the right version of DPP will be on it.

That would be good, if he has it?

However also a very good chance that it won't run on Windows 10...

As noted in my post above ;)

He might be able install it in compatibly mode?