Image Restoration

Name
James Stockton
Edit My Images
Yes
I have done a quick favour for my mate, his Great Grandad died not too long ago and one of the only pictures they have of him is rather old and tatty, from sometime back in the 1930's. I have done a few photography favours in the past but they have asked if I can try and restore this photo for them.

Something I have never done before but willing to give it a go, I grabbed the clone tool and set to work! Bearing in mind the original photo is only about 2in x 5in. What do we think?

Before

scan0001.jpg

After

Untitled-1-2.jpg

Hmmm maybe. I think thats more personal choice, i'll ask him what he would prefer.

Infact I think I may prefer sepia too.... back to CS3!

I just ran it through noiseware community edition its a free download off the web it will take out some of the work involved for you. From your pic above I managed this with the default settings hope this helps:

Untitled-1-2_filtered.jpg

Hope you don't mind, but I've done a bit on the collar and shoulder based on Banath's post.

Untitled-1-2_filtered.jpg

Noise reduction has turned it almost into a cartoon! Some grain is what you would expect for a picture like that. Right eye looks wrong. did some of the surface get lost where the crease is? Could do with more work but certainly better than the original.

I agree but it was not meant to be the finished article it was only an example of what was possible using free software available. A lot more work would be needed after this but some of the creases have been removed which would usually be painstakingly cloned, the grain/aged feel and detail could be put back in photoshop once the pic was finished to give it an authentic look.