Image used without permission

Name
Dan
Edit My Images
No
Not an uncommon thread by the looks of things, but here's my tale.

I'll begin by saying that I'm only an amateur photographer and do this for a hobby.

Anyway, in late summer 2015, a big news story was garnering lots of coverage on TV. Whilst watching the ITV Anglia news story, I was shocked to see one of my photographs used to illustrate the piece, credited to a news agency.

Looking into it further, I then found the same image used in several articles on the ITV news website, again credited to the same agency, and a second TV news report using it.

I contacted ITV at the time, who blamed said agency and promised to remove it from their site and not use it again. In fairness, the image did disappear from the website articles, but remained in the news clips.

I asked them for a contact at the agency, and all they could give me was an email address. Despite a couple of emails, I never heard anything from them.

Recently, the story was back in the news, and having caught it on Anglia TV, my photo was once again being used on ITV, this time with no credit.

I've not contacted them again as yet. Should I, and if so, how should I go about it?

a LOT depends on where they got it from.. if you uploaded it to a photo sharing site that allows others to use or entered it into a comp that has dodgy rights grab terms..

Thanks for the help so far.

They nicked it off an Internet forum/Google images. The only place it was hosted was on my Flickr (where I have disabled downloading), and it had been linked from there on to two forums.

How much would you invoice them for such use then? It's been on at least three local TV news clips in this region since 2015.

Last edited:
What's the name of the news agency involved? Have you managed to find a telephone number or proper address for them? They can ignore emails until the cows come home but it's not so easy to ignore direct contact.

Thanks for the help so far.