Beginner Inspiration for photographs?

Name
Rich
Edit My Images
Yes
I am just getting into photography and although I have an idea of the style of photographs I want to take, I just wondered where you all find the inspiration or ideas for your photos.

I started to write something then remembered something I read earlier today which sums it up much better than I could...

snip...

I don't think we create great pictures until were engaged with the subject, I think a camera is a secondary interest for great photographers.

Shoot what you love, the inspiration will come from within you and drive you forward. Nothing could get me out of bed at 4 o'clock to wait for a sunrise and perfect cloud formation over a pretty landscape, or to trek for miles and sit in silence waiting for a lesser spotted nut warbler, because those things don't inspire me, in fact they don't interest me at all. I can only push myself to create images of things that interest me. If the subject isn't interesting, the photography is pointless.

Strangely, I come at this from a completely opposite style of shooting - but come to the same conclusion - I know Phil really enjoys shooting people... personally, I hate it with a passion (2 weeks of being relief Ships Photographer on Canberra just before it was decomissioned left me with a profound loathing of pointing the camera in the direction of anyone), but love shooting still-life work where I can spend days and days tweaking the composition (or indeed building an entire "set" including making most of the props) - and I actually got into photography in the first place as a method of recording some of the fantastic views that I was experiencing as a keen climber/mountaineer back in my mis-spent youth. I'm with him on the "birds on a stick" though...