install advice for ssd

Name
Dean
Edit My Images
No
Hi guys,

I'm about to get this build fired up, but I've never done an ssd before. What is the process for putting win7, CS5 and LR on my ssd and everything else on my HDD?

I've only for my phone to surf while I do this. :)

Neil, as far as I can see there are no instructions for that. Its an ocz agility 3.

This might help.......

http://www.talkphotography.co.uk/forums/showthread.php?t=367117

Wei = Windows Experince Index, although I think Neil said something about not needing this recently?

Probably find that Win7 picks up the non defrag itself.

As for the rest of your programmes, take a wee bit time during the install to pick which drive you want to use.

Thanks guys. I'll keep you posted. :)

One thing I'd do is disconnect all drives APART from the SSD when you do the install. SOMETIMES Windows doesn't quite get it right when installing on a machine with more than 1 drive in it.

One thing I'd do is disconnect all drives APART from the SSD when you do the install. SOMETIMES Windows doesn't quite get it right when installing on a machine with more than 1 drive in it.

Have learnt this myself the hard way

Luckily for me though I had other backups

Hi guys,

I'm about to get this build fired up, but I've never done an ssd before. What is the process for putting win7, CS5 and LR on my ssd and everything else on my HDD?

When you say everything else on the HDD what do you mean? Put ALL your programs on the SSD. If you have a reasonable sized disk you should be able to fit all your programs onto it and still have plenty of space.

My SSD contains my W7 and programs and all my images and other documents are placed on my HDDs.

THere are some registry tweaks you may need to do to get the most out of running an SSD.

There's loads of info on the web if you do some searches.
Here's one
http://www.ocztechnology.com/ssdzone/tutorials/operating_system.html

This might help.......